Pear, brie, and lavender pizza

Gather around kids ’cause I’m going to tell you a story. A story about pizza.

I know, I’ve said before I don’t do recipes but guys, this one has to be shared. It’s not so much a recipe, or even an instructional, but more of a story about the art of pizza toppings. I mean, I tried to put it into recipe format, but let’s be honest, I’m no chef. But maybe you aren’t either and you want a little extra guidance. Feel free to get all loosey goosey with the amounts and toppings. Hell, make an entirely different pizza if you want! Think of this post as #mondaymotivation, pizza style.

(But make this one first and tell me how you like it, kay?)

See, not so very long ago in a galaxy, umm well, this one, I lived in a little mountain town called Canmore.

img_2583.jpg

Go ahead and take a few soothing breaths. Let Lady Mac send you some love.

Canmore is a majestic Canadian place full of mountains and pine trees, wild animals and olympic athletes, and hands down the best local food you will ever have in your life. Ever. I still dream about the food options. And they were plentiful.

One restaurant in particular changed how I feel about my pizza toppings.

This was 2012. A simpler time. A time when pizza floaties were non-existent. Pinterest was still a baby of an app for women planning their weddings and baby showers, not quite a goal for everyday life. Facebook was still more drunken photos than memes and fake news. And the biggest question for pizza was pepperoni or cheese. Or at least it was for me. Maybe I was really behind the times.

So when my husband told me I had to go to Rocky Mountain Flatbread Co for apple pizza I was like dude, hells to the no. Pineapple is one thing, but apple?

But then we went. And my life was forever changed.

When my sister went to a lavender festival over the weekend and said we had to try to replicate the pizza she had there, I had 3 words: Let’s do this.

(Okay, I probably had 4, one of which was an expletive.)

See, ever since my first foray into gourmet pizzas, I’ve now become pretty creative with my own homemade ones. You know how casseroles and stir-fries are a great dumping ground for leftover foods? Well, that’s what I use pizzas for now. I even keep pizza dough in my freezer for nights I don’t feel like cooking cooking. And I’m sorry, but pizza is way better than casserole. EVERYTHING tastes good on pizza. (And you can get your kid to eat anything if you shove it on a pizza too! Pro tip.)

One of the most important parts of pizza is the dough. Whoa, whoa, whoa. Don’t go running off. It’s easy, I promise. I too was afraid of dough once. But now it’s one of the few things I can cook. The best dough for this pizza is called The Best Homemade Thin-Crust Pizza and it literally is. And don’t be tempted by that whole wheat hogwash this time. There’s a time and a place. And this time you deserve to treat yo self. So hop on over to The Kitchn and whip that up. I’ll wait.

Okay, okay, if you really don’t want to make your own pizza dough (But you should. I believe in you!) you can always use some naan bread and bake at 350F instead. If you must.

Personally, I am a big fan of cooking my pizzas in a cast iron skillet. Maybe it was all of those personal pan pizzas from Pizza Hut’s book club as a kid. I even make my son his own little personalized heart-shaped pizzas as my mom got him the cutest heart-shaped cast iron skillet. If you don’t have a cast iron skillet, get one. And make it heart shaped.

JK, just use a baking sheet or pizza stone, or whatever oven safe cooking surface you have in your possession.

IMG_4218.jpg

This is not your movie night pizza. (Unless you run one hell of a movie night.) This is the perfect pizza for date night, or a night to impress your girls. Add some sparkling wine and Cards Against Humanity for Her and you’ve got your friends thinking you’re a regular Martha Stewart.

Pear, Brie, and Lavender pizza

Ingredients
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 2 large onions
  • 1/4 teaspoon lavender
  • 2 pears (thinly sliced)
  • 450 gram wheel of brie
  • cornmeal for dusting
Instructions
1. Caramelize your onions by slicing them thinly and cooking them over medium heat with 1/4 cup  of the butter and the sugar. Once they begin to look golden, begin second step while they finish caramelizing.
2. Melt 1/4 cup butter and lavender buds and set aside to infuse. (The microwave works well here.)
3. Preheat oven to 500F and prepare cast iron skillet by dusting with cornmeal.
4. Roll out a piece of your pizza dough to the size of your skillet. Transfer your dough to your skillet before you begin topping it.
5. Brush your lavender infused butter across your dough. You can sprinkle a few dried lavender buds across it as well, but be careful! Lavender is very overpowering, you only need a few buds for big impact.
6. Top your pizza with your onions, pear, and pieces of brie. Don’t get too fussy, it will melt nicely. Just throw some chunks around and call it a day.
7. Cook for 8-10 minutes, or until the cheese is melted and the crust begins to look golden.
And for the record, I’m sorry Kimmy Schmidt, but lavender is the BEST flavour and smell.
IMG_4218.jpg
2 thoughts on “Pear, brie, and lavender pizza

Leave a Reply

