Friday night fun: writing my reps!

It feels like lately all I’ve been doing is advocating. So when I saw Oliver Jeffers post Love Letter America this morning on Instagram I instantly bookmarked it as my job for tonight after my kiddo went to bed. I can’t help but feel so powerless every time I open the internet, and seeing someone making beautiful art to help others express their dreams for their country in such a loving way made me feel like maybe we’ll be okay. Maybe.

So what is it? Amazing artists have teamed up to make beautiful postcards for you to print off and write exactly what it is you want to say to your representatives. The site even has links to help you find your senators and congressman. It’s literally print, write and address, and pop it in the mail.

IMG_1269.JPG

It is so important that we make our voices heard. That we stand up for what we believe in and stand up for others that may be too afraid or do not have the platform to do so. What you write is completely up to you. But I think it’s an awesome idea to stick with their message: what do we love about America? What do we want to see happen to preserve what’s so amazing about it?

And it doesn’t have to be a one time thing either. We have 4 years ahead of us where we need to force ourselves to remember what is good and right. That fear and hatred is not normal. That science is real. That public, accessible, affordable education is vital. That women and the LGTBQ community need equal rights. That immigrants are not terrorists, they are a vital part of what makes America… well, America. That healthcare should not be a privilege, but a right! I could go on and on here but let’s just say, this isn’t normal. And hatred is not going to get us anywhere. But LOVE will.

So if you’re finding it difficult to get through the day right now, here is something you can do. Instead of obsessing, take 5 minutes. Write one postcard. And then the next time you’re obsessing do it again. I can’t promise it will do any good in the grand scheme of things, but I can promise that it feels good and lets a little bit of love back in.

 

Leave a Reply

