Possibilities

What a week! The week before Christmas is always insane, but add being told there is nothing the school system can do for your child on top of all the regular holiday stress and OMG guys, I am mess! But a good mess. An organized chaos if you will.

I knew it was coming. I was a child in this school board who was let down. I was lucky enough to have a teacher fight for me, and even though it wasn’t enough, I realize now what a big deal that was. What’s crazy is once again we were dealing with teachers who got it, but stuck in a system that doesn’t recognize exceptions to the arbitrary rules. It’s frustrating as all hell. Public education for all, except those that will excel at it the most? That’s like telling our Olympic athletes “sorry guys! You have a natural affinity for this so you can just train yourselves!” Giftedness alone won’t get you anywhere! You need the tools just as much as anyone else, just at a faster, more intense pace. How can you deny that to a child?

But it’s okay, because I have my people. Whenever you go through hard times, kindness always seems to come find you. And with the internet, you’re never alone, even if you’re a statistical anomaly. And that’s a wonderful thing.

A whole world of possibility has opened up for us. If we could bring our pets, I could foresee a year of some kind of nomadic existence. I am more certain than ever that we’ll find ourselves moving again in the nearish future. I just feel like 2017 is going to bring some big mix ups. Where before we were planning on settling in for a bit so Kaleb could make friends and enjoy school, now it’s kind of like we’re free! Of course, maybe the fact that I feel this way means we’ll never move again. Who knows.

At any rate, it’s Christmas! And you can’t be stressed at Christmas! We started our holiday tonight by going to the movie theatre for the first time in forever (we are drive-in people!) to see Moana. It was exactly what I needed. I haven’t seen such a great animated film in years. And the music! I am going to be singing the soundtrack for the next year, at least. Kaleb is already asking when we can go to Disney World again and has banned me from singing any of Moana’s parts in the songs because he’s Moana.

Also, fun fact, he pronounces the “a” in theatre so yeah, he’s pretty much the classiest person I know.

And on top of that, one of my films was finally released. Years ago, before I was a mom, I was in a little indie film called To Our Bright White Hearts. Everyone who worked on it has gone on to do some wonderful things, and it’s like a blast from the past. It’s crazy to me how much my life has changed. How much I’ve changed. It’s like I’m a grown up now or something.

Five years ago, if you had told me that I would be homeschooling my 4 year old, I would have laughed in your face. I was never going to be a stay at home mom. And that I was going to have to find a way to teach said 4 year old 3rd grade math and high school chemistry? Well, that’s just insane.

But this is my life! And it’s amazing. You never end up where you think you’re going to end up. And that’s what makes it so amazing. I have always been a planner. I can’t help but look so far ahead into the future that I forget about the present. But I am finally being forced to call mercy. There is no way I can plan even 6 months into the future now. I’ve just got to roll with it. It’s okay, I’m a fast learner.

I feel like I should be filled with injustice for my kiddo, and I am, but I can’t help but be incredibly excited for him and what lies ahead of us. Really, there are no limits. If the school system can’t teach him, and he can’t be in a regular school, then we’ll just have to carve our own path. We just need to figure out what we want and make it happen.

Do I sound kind of crazy positive? A little unhinged? Maybe I am. Maybe I’m finally learning some coping strategies. But mostly, it’s Christmas! We had the perfect family day today, and we have a few more ahead of us. And SANTA COMES TOMORROW! You can’t help but be positive knowing that!

Leave a Reply

