Beauty school dropout

Today I let my 4 year old become a Kindergarten dropout.

I’m just going to let that sink in a moment for my own sake.

I mean, tons of crazy successful people have dropped out of school. Right? Okay, so usually it’s late high school or college, not right at the beginning of their school career. But I mean, is it even considered dropping out when it’s not mandatory for you to be in school yet anyway?

And here’s the thing, just because I pulled him out of Kindergarten doesn’t mean he’s literally dropping out. It’s just, when your kid is puking over going to school, there’s a problem. And it needs to be fixed ASAP. A week to a 4 year old is like 2 months to a 30 year old. My math is probably wrong on that, but that’s a long freaking time. He just can’t wait that long. When you get the answers that you needed, that you’re in fact, not crazy, and your kid is an outlier among outliers, it’s safe to say that you need to have a solid plan in place before sending him off any where.

So he’s home. I don’t want to imply that this was a recommendation from the psychologist, because it wasn’t. But we had pretty much made up our minds going in that school wasn’t working, and if the results came back where we thought they would we were pulling him out. The results came back quite a bit higher than even we expected, so here we are.

So what did we do today? Well, we did yoga and read. We talked about punctuation and learned new words and wondered why authors make the choices they make. He began writing his own story. He rode his bike to the park- something we haven’t been able to do very often since he started school. I found out that 97% of the time* he can name an element from memory if I tell him the group and period number. He did double and triple digit addition for close to an hour. For fun! We looked for tardigrades in our lichen we collected and soaked yesterday (none that we could find, boo). We did some of Khan Academy’s hour of code offerings. We read some more. He helped me cook dinner. And then he had swimming and we went to the library. We read for an hour again before bed and he was out like a light. Which is rare in our house.

So I think it’s safe to say he got his learning in. He got his play in. He got to play with friends in an environment that he actually engages and jokes and plays with them. I have to chalk it up to a pretty damn successful day. Of course, anything works for the first 3 minutes. I’m sure by the end of the week I’ll be freaking out again. Or dead. Because keeping up with a 4 year old who is smarter than you is freaking exhausting.

I don’t know if we’ll work things out with the school and they’ll suddenly go back on their word and skip him a couple grades and he’ll magically fit in and love it. I don’t know if we’ll end up at private school, or moving to another school board. I don’t know if we’ll just end up homeschooling until he goes to college at 12. The only thing I’m certain of in this moment is: a) we’ll figure it out, b) I’m going to have to start drinking coffee, and c) I’m going to need a whole lot more wine.

 

*not an official stat

One thought on “Beauty school dropout

Leave a Reply

